Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966
I cannot for the life of me find the correct ruling on this in the NCAA book.
The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1’s disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach.
NFHS–this is a technical foul charged to A1.
Is this a CLASS B 'T' in NCAA? Administrative? Warning for delay?
|
I think under rule 8 you place the ball at the disposal of A1 (since all other players are ready). He is not allowed to enter the semi circle. Rule 9 says it is a violation to enter the semi circle after ball is placed at disposal of A1. All team A can do is call time out. It will be a violation in 10 if they don't call TO. I don't see this the same as a team preventing a FT from happening by huddling etc to warrant a delay of game.