View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 31, 2016, 12:40pm
MTUMP MTUMP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Welpe provided the rule citation.

In FED, the ONLY thing that matters with respect to if K can advance upon recovery is where the kick ends. The ball touching the ground (or not) beyond the NZ, being in flight (or not) beyond the NZ, being touched (or not) beyond the NZ... all of those things do not matter.

If K recovers a scrimmage kick in or behind the NZ, they may run, pass, or even kick the ball again if they choose.
One other thing may matter...If K touched/muffed the ball beyond the NZ. In this case, K still has a right to run, pass, or kick the ball that was recovered behind NZ, but R will have the right to apply first touching, if they do not foul on the play.
Reply With Quote