
Thu Oct 27, 2016, 10:12am
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt S.
Gang,
There IS a casebook play that supports my interpretation. (my state association referred me to this)
6.4.5 SITUATION A:
Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation.
RULING: B's ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B's basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating *procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.
COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it *normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4)
|
That has already been addressed in this thread. And it doesn't support ignoring the AP throw-in on a double foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|