View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 23, 2016, 01:13pm
The_Rookie The_Rookie is offline
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The error is not correctable. It occurred while the clock was stopped(they didn't shoot FTs). That error must be corrected no later than during the first dead ball after the clock starts. When a live ball goes through the basket it becomes dead. Whether clock running or not. In your example they did not shoot bonus. Thus the error. When the official hands ball to A1 for throw in it becomes live. Once ball goes inbounds clock starts.ball stays alive. When B makes the basket the ball becomes dead. The first dead ball after clock started. The error must be corrected before the ball becomes live again. When A grabs the ball/and the referee starts counting the ball becomes live and it becomes too late to correct the error.

It can be a tough read, but you need to read the rule book and casebook over and over and over....
When a live ball goes through the basket it becomes dead. Whether clock running or not. This was the part that confused me. I was focused on the fact that the clock did not stop
Reply With Quote