View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2003, 10:58am
DownTownTonyBrown DownTownTonyBrown is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Question Continuing to expand the question

Warren and others...

Your original question was stated as "barely missing 2nd on his way back."

Okay. Barely is likely close enough for me. I'm probably "not going to notice" that he slightly missed second and give the runner the benefit of the doubt.

However, based upon the ruling that you have given, the runner could return from two steps short of 3rd... across the pitcher's mound... and retouch 1st. Then accept his award of 3rd by advancing to 2nd and then to 3rd. If I understood correctly, this would be okay.

There is a large difference between trying to do things correctly (but failing slightly/barely) and intentionally doing things wrong. Would you still feel the runner is not in jeopardy for missing 2nd on his return if he cuts across the diamond?

I also note that the ruling you quote does not make any mention of the runner not being in jeopardy of an appeal... It says that he can RETOUCH both bases (Well, of course) but does the use of the word "retouch" mean that he is not in jeopardy of an appeal for missing a base on his return trip to tag-up?

Warren quoted:
On the other side of the argument we have a 12/15/2000 PBUC ruling, reported in BRD #4 Off-Interp 3-4, which I consider fairly conclusive:
A runner who left a base too soon and missed a subsequent base when returning would still be permitted to retouch both bases in order when accepting his award.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford