View Single Post
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 03:09pm
OKREF OKREF is offline
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
This is not, according to 6-4-5, correct. Though the word "legally" has been removed from 4-42-5a, all the provisions stated in 6-4-5 are still valid:
"The opportunity to make an AP throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an AP throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If the defensive team commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is not switched.

Therefore, the removal of the word "legally" in 4-42-5a is a moot point because of what it says in 6-4-5. Right?
The word legally is extremely important.

Rule 6-4-4....the direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw in ends. An alternating-possession throw in ends when the throw in ends as in 4-42-5

Rule 4-42-5...The throw in ends when
a. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player

Rule 6-4-5 ......if the defensive team commits a violation during the throw in, the possession arrow is not changed not switched



6-4-4 is clear, the arrow is switched according to 4-42-5, the word legally has been removed, therefore, when the ball is touched legally, or illegally, the throw in has ended, therefore the arrow switches at that time. The kicked ball isn't part of the throw in, as the throw in ended when it was touched inbounds. The kick is a touch which ended the throw in, it just happens to be that that touch is illegal. Team A will get a throw in for the illegal act of the kick, but since the throw in was touched, the throw in ends and the arrow should be switched.

Last edited by OKREF; Mon Oct 17, 2016 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote