Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF
All that matters is where was the ball when the whistle was blown. If it was in the air, and not in possession of R, K will choose to replay the down.
|
Would you actually make that mechanical a ruling if it was clear that it could not have been played by R, or anyone, in the field of play? What could possibly have affected the outcome that would justify mechanical application of the rule? The whistle took away K's ability to apply body English to a live ball?
The situation described upthread, where the ball actually never did cross the goal line, dead or alive, is different. There I get application of the rule as written. But there are some cases where the right thing would be to rule equitably instead.