Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim
Baseball guy. Question: Can a football coach lodge a protest of a rule missaplication after a play?
|
A player, substitute or the head coach my request a conference between the head coach and the referee if the coach believes a rule has been enforced improperly. This request must occur before the next play begins (snap or free kick) and before the end of the half. If the ruling is not changed, the team is charged a time out or a delay penalty if no timeouts remain.
So, no, it's not a protest like baseball would handle it. But, there is a method for the coach to ask if he believes the officials are making a rules error.