Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim
I know that. The question is whether at the end of the play where IG was called can the coach go to the official and protest that the untimed down is not correct?
|
Yes, he can -- IF he realizes that the officials are in error. (Even if a coach doesn't ask for a conference, replay should have caught such an egregious error.)
In this case, OKSt Coach Mike Gundy admitted in his post-game press conference that he didn't know the rule. Maybe if they paid him a little more......