Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  josephrt1
					 
				 
				ASA says one base, but it does not state from what time point. For a thrown ball it clearly states 2 bases from runner's position at time ball left fielders hand and for loss of possession it says 1 base from time ball went out of play.  But for pitched ball I don't see a starting point defined.  Just an observation. I have always gone with 1 base from position at start of the pitch. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 All runners would be on base at time of start of pitch. So it would be a known fact. So why would they have to state that in the rule book?