Thread: Punt Play
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 28, 2016, 08:19pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacksonSSFreshC View Post
K punts the ball to the one yard line where K1 recovers and slides into the end zone. The Back Judge marked the ball on the one and told the head coach it's a momentum rule. I have looked at the rule book and have decided that he is correct on the call, but his reasoning is wrong. From the rule on ball becoming dead on a punt - the ball is dead as soon as K recovers, it has nothing to do with momentum. In college this would be a touchback
Is that a recent change? NFL's had it like that a long time, but not Fed or NCAA.
Reply With Quote