Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  youngump
					 
				 
				We go over this every once in a while here.  The rule is just wrong there.  A ball which bounds over the color portion also bounding over the white partion is fair.  The rules have a contradiction but just ignore it. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 IMO, the rule is accurate when applied in order of its presentation.  The first determines the ball as fair.  Once a ball is fair, I do not believe there is any circumstance when that same batted ball can properly/legally be declared foul.
82N1 addresses the ball passing over or contacting the white portion.  
82N2 addresses the ball passing over or contacting 
only the contrasting color portion.
However, I agree the rules in 8.2.N could be worded better simply by adding the word "only" to 82N2