Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
I don't think at all they are trying to go back as you suggest.they just don't think of the consequences of the words they use. 4.42.5 I think, has said for years that the AP throwin ended when ball was kicked. New throw in for violation. That was not a "legal touch" ...
|
Here's the "old" wording:
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in.
A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking
violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to
where the kicking violation (
illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession
throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and
therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession
throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession
throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered.
When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking
violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A.