Thread: Can he score?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2016, 01:59pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,208
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Absolutely. A caught fly ball is just a caught fly ball, regardless of where it's caught. It is neither fair nor foul.
The definition of fair and foul are independent of whether the ball is a fly ball or not. Watch the pros. They point fair or foul without regard the type of hit.

The definition of catch says a runner can advance as soon as a fly ball is touched. There is no distinction as to whether the ball is fair or foul.

There is nothing in the rules that restricts a runner's ability to advance if a fly ball is caught.

There is a rule that says the ball is dead and runners return if a foul ball is not caught.
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote