Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr:
The OP is ASA, not NFHS.
|
Agreed. From what I recall ASA considers the appeal of a force out a timing play. NFHS on the other hand considers the appeal of a force out to be a force out, thus negating any runs that score if the appealed force out is the 3rd out of the inning.
There was a case play IIRC (or maybe a test question), that read as follows:
R1 on 3rd, R2 on second, R1 on first, with 2 outs.
B6 his a ball into the corner and advances all the way to home plate. R2 missed third base. The defense properly appealed the missed base.
Ruling: R2 is out on a force out, and no runs score.