Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
it is impossible to have a force out at 1B.
|
Fair enough. I learned something today. In all respects that I can think of, it is identical to a force out (tag not necessary, runs do not score if ending the inning, etc.), yet is not as ASA defines a force out as applicable only to runners, not the BR.
Interestingly enough, I found another ASA/NCAA rules difference. I guess I learned two things today. In NCAA, the appeal of a missed forced base is treated as a force out, even if the batter/runner was put out or the force otherwise removed. NCAA 12.26.7