View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2016, 03:44pm
teebob21 teebob21 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Unless the play takes the fielder into foul territory. And that's about any play where they touch the orange (why else would they do it?).
The term the book uses is an errant throw (ASA). In that case, both the defense and offense may use either portion of the double base. Should the offense use the "wrong" base on a quality throw, the defense may appeal, provided the runner has not yet returned to the base.

If the defense uses the "wrong" base, is it obstruction?

In the cases where both teams may use both sides, if there is a NON-malicious crash at the base due to the possible confusion of the players, do we rule OBS or nothing?
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote