View Single Post
Old Sun May 08, 2016, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I do not think it is that petty.
I didn't say it was petty, just differences of opinion.
Quote:
I think football at the high school level has different concerns and NCAA often does not address them
Indeed, and that's the reason Fed has usually given for their differences, and usually they're right.
Quote:
or the main thing, you have college coaches that try to always find holes they can exploit. Those same exploitation do not take place in NF because there are more coaches and many coaches are not only coaches by profession.
Think about this: Where is a loophole more likely to be found & exploited: among full-time pros, or among a far greater number who include some part-timers & volunteers? Fed has so many more games played by their rules (not even limited to their member ass'ns), the exploitation's usually going to come first there, rather than in the smaller world of NCAA rules users.
Quote:
I do not think the NF goes out of their way, they just do not see the need to change something that is simple that is mostly taking place at the college level.
Then how do you explain their adopting a provision which, although it was intended to have the same effect as a recently-adopted NCAA one regarding approach by the kicking team to their free kick line, was worded differently in a way that made it hard to administer if officials were actually to take it literally (which I'm sure they didn't)? Why didn't they just adopt NCAA's language? They used to cooperate via a liaison committee with NCAA, ideas going back & forth, sometimes adopting the same change at the same time if they both found it appropriate.