View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2016, 07:38am
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A1 shoots a legitimate jump shot from within the free throw circle. B1 blocks the shot, but jumps towards A1 while doing so. After A1 lands (very close to still being in the air). B1 contacts A1, displacing her.

I rule that the foul is after the act of shooting, since A1 had landed before B1 contacted her. The ball was still in the air, but had no chance of going in the basket. For conversation's sake, let's say A1 was still in the air when contact occured. Would the correct ruling be to give A1 two free throws even though it was obvious that the shot was not going to go in?

Just wondering if I'm overthinking the play.
Yes. You are. It happens. The "no chance of going in" stuff applies to end of quarter situations or if a whistle is blown and a shot is in the air etc. If a shot is taken, horn sounds, ball clearly missed, your shooter lands and then is bumped the contact is ignored unless intentional or flagrant. You are probably thinking too much about the Spurs play in the other thread. That second rebounding foul should be penalized in high school because, while it occurred after the horn, the ball was still "live." It had a chance to go in. Had it clearly had no chance of going in before the second foul the ball would have been dead and contact ignored. (I wouldn't call it intentional) thx

Last edited by BigCat; Tue May 03, 2016 at 07:43am.
Reply With Quote