View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2016, 04:48pm
jwwashburn jwwashburn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
From the May 2014 ASA plays and clarifications.

Play: In the top of the 8th inning, F2, who was the last batter to complete their turn at bat, is placed on 2B. The offense wants to put a Courtesy Runner in to run for F2. The umpires do not allow this because F2 did not bat and reach base safely.
Ruling: The umpires should have allowed F2 to have a Courtesy Runner. As long as F1 and/or F2 batted for themselves in the inning prior to the tie breaker and were the last to complete their turn at bat, they have earned the right to be put on 2B, therefore they can have a Courtesy Runner. Rule 8 Section 10A
I KNEW there was a Play of the month! I just didn't know if it was from 2001, or 2015 or 2003...
Reply With Quote