Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
He's talking about A1 throwing ball off his backboard..not Bs. 9.5 says it is legal...not double dribble etc. what he was/is contending is the offensive player who throws ball (clearly not a try) off his own backboard, cannot take steps to retrieve the ball. He can throw it off his backboard (not a dribble cause his equipment) but if takes steps to get it-travel. I contend that 9.5 is broader than that and allows steps before ball caught. That is the play that is seen..albeit rarely.
Now the rules don't really support the case play but it is there.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad
Bullets aside, for some reason you posted about A throwing off of B's basket. This isn't at all what's being discussed. A throwing off of A's basket is not a dribble.
|
Got this all muddled between the hypothetical in the OP and what Dad is arguing. Either way, it doesn't hurt to have a case play from Rule 4 since that's where a dribble is defined but Cat you're right, Rule 9 goes a little more in depth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad
Your point being what? These don't answer anything. I already stated your bullets, so this isn't any new information. Your assumption on what equipment is or is not is off, but that's just semantics and NFHS's typical use of language.
|
No assumption has been made to what is/isn't equipment. Rule citations have been provided. There are different types of equipment, player and those things considered part of the court.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
|