View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2016, 11:10pm
mtn335 mtn335 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Two plays for discussion:

1.) Gonzaga 10-second violation in which pass was batted by a Syracuse player (who appeared to be in the frontcourt) back into the backcourt, where Gonzaga recovered and was whistled for 10 seconds (shot clock was at 20). Is NCAA-M rule different than HS, or was this just a miss on a frantic play?
Rule 4, Section 23. Location of a Player
Art. 1. The location of a player (or nonplayer) is determined as being:
b) In the frontcourt or backcourt

Art. 3. When the ball touches an official or a player who is on the playing court, play shall continue as if the ball touched the floor at that individual’s location


Rule 9, Section 10. 10-Second Backcourt
...Once the 10-second count begins, an inbounds player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in his backcourt for 10 consecutive seconds.

By this reading, it looks like a miss to me, but I don't work NCAA-M; others thoughts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
I'm more interested in the review on this one. They reviewed it, but apparently could only review it for the time on the clock. I felt for the C, who probably knew he reached to blow a line that wasn't his, then saw on replay that he wasn't right. Why was the OOB aspect not reviewable?
Must be a deflection between two or more players, I think. 11.2.5(e)?
__________________
WIAA basketball & Football (Snohomish County, WA)
NWAC & GNAC Women's Basketball
Reply With Quote