Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
Technically in the OP the team in control was the last to touch before and after since the touching of the ball changed the status from front to BC.
So to be a BC violation we have 2 things that MUST be true
1. Team in Control (TIC) must be the last to touch in the FC
AND
2. TIC must be the first to touch after ball has BC status
The key point is the status of the ball. The ball is still FC until it either bounces in the BC or makes contact with a player in the BC. So a player whose TIC of the ball cannot cause the ball to go from FC to BC status as they were not the first to touch AFTER gaining BC status but during the status change.
All fun and semantics but BEFORE and AFTER are very specific words.
|
They are very specific words: one event cannot occur both before and after a separate event. A3 catching the ball is one event. Last to touch is a separate event. First to touch is yet a third event.
The rule is clear as day.
I ask again, my altered play, what is your basis for not calling that a violation?