Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
I'll have to pull the wording of the rule, but it's very specific.
1. Must have established TC and FC status.
2. Team in control must be last to touch the ball BEFORE it gains BC status.
3. Team in control must be first to touch the ball AFTER it gains BC status.
In the OP, #2 is missing because B2 touched it before it went into the BC.
My play looks a lot different, but there is zero rules basis for differentiating between them.
|
Technically in the OP the team in control was the last to touch before and after since the touching of the ball changed the status from front to BC.
So to be a BC violation we have 2 things that MUST be true
1. Team in Control (TIC) must be the last to touch in the FC
AND
2. TIC must be the first to touch after ball has BC status
The key point is the status of the ball. The ball is still FC until it either bounces in the BC or makes contact with a player in the BC. So a player whose TIC of the ball cannot cause the ball to go from FC to BC status as they were not the first to touch AFTER gaining BC status but during the status change.
All fun and semantics but BEFORE and AFTER are very specific words.