Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
2- In your example, the official could reset the clock to 2 seconds since it was a timing error.
Here's a similiar case book play.
5.10.1B. Play: A1 travels. Immediately after the official sounds the whistle and signals the clock to stop, he/she glances at the clock and notices there are three seconds remaining in the quarter. However, the timer does not stop the clock and time expires. Ruling: The referee will direct that three seconds be put back on the clock since he/she had definite knowledge of the amount of time involved.
[Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 1st, 2001 at 06:32 PM]
|
Earlier in the season, I questioned the difference between this play and the next. Here, the "immediately after" is considered the lag time. In another play, the official notices 5 seconds as the whistle blows, and it must be reset to 4 seconds. (5.10.1D) Now, I don't think there should be any difference between immediately after and while, but I'm not on the rules committee.
BTW, anyone know why lag time is not in the rules, only in the case book?