
Sat Mar 19, 2016, 06:28pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed
here's a teaching moment for that same ref that had the earlier IW, just had another one in my book. Here's why: IU shoots close to shot clock violation. he doesn't think it is one, but he thinks the ball misses the rim, wrong, and blows the whistle before the play finishes as an IU player gets the offensive rebound and dunks.
Hold that whistle for a second for that dunk and then blow your whistle if you think it might have missed the rim. that way, if you are wrong, you aren't penalizing IU. if you are right, give UK the ball.
The way he did it, if he was wrong and it did hit the rim, then you have a jump ball, horrific result.
He got lucky because the shot wasn't off in time. He wasn't blowing his whistle there, but on hitting the rim. It was pretty clear that it did hit the rim.
|
And if I interpret the rule correctly, that review shouldn't have been allowed to occur because the try was unsuccessful. While I don't think I'm wrong on that, maybe someone can prove me right/wrong?
|