Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Exactly, I wouldn't even think of this being an immediate drive.
He caught the ball going away from the basket, stopped briefly, then turned back the the basket for a drive.
#34 was defending white 44 and only shifted over as the shooter drove to the basket. That, to me, with the actions of this shooter, is a secondary defender, even with the AR you posted considered.
|
According to the exception to the RA rule, spelled out in the AR, this part is irrelevant. On most, if not all of the plays, especially ones like the AR, the defender involved in the contact will have been guarding another player while or before the move to the basket started.
If you want to argue the white player did not make an immediate move to the basket, so be it. I would disagree, but by rule, that is the only argument you can make. Once one has decided that the white player did indeed make an immediate move to the basket, then who the defensive player involved in the contact may or may not have been defending is not a factor in adjudicating this play correctly.