Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp
I tend to agree. The official addressed the coaches comment but said he didn't want to T him and compound his mistake.
You could make the argument that he compounded it by not sticking him as well.
The larger point, IMO anyway, is that he would have had no qualms issuing the T had he not put himself in a bad position to begin with by engaging with the coach on a partner's call.
|
I still disagree that the conversation was specifically about the partner's call. It was, indirectly, only when the coach turned an innocent answer against the partner.
If, after a few trips up and down the court after some call by a parnter, a coach asks me about a rule, I'm answering a rules question without any comment on a partner's prior call. If it is right away, it is clear it is about that call and I'll refer them to the calling official (unless I know I had the same thing). If my partner gets a rule wrong, that is not on me. It is not my job to know my partner kicked a rule 5 possessions ago such that I have to avoid talking about that rule in the future. I will have said nothing about whether my partner was correct or not.
The coach should have been T'd when he twisted it around against the prior call.