The key to this is whether the calling official deemed the ball to still be in A1's hands when A2 fouled. It doesn't matter when he sounded his whistle. This official is the arbiter of the facts of the event. Even if video would prove that the ball was in flight when the foul occurred, the officials on the court have to go by what this official observed. Of course, his partners can counsel him on the call, but they cannot change it. Only the calling official can alter his decision.
So if he want to stick with the TC foul, one would need to know if A2 also committed a lane violation. If not, then A1 is entitled to attempt his FT which was halted by the foul with the lane cleared. This CE is failure to award a merited FT. The game would then continue at the POI with B3 attempting FTs.
If the calling official is willing to admit that the ball was in flight and that he kicked the rule, proceed as stated by BryanV, plus considering whether or not A2 committed a FT violation along with his foul.
|