Thread: Clock work
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2001, 11:52am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
B was fortunate the clock only went from 2.2 seconds to 1.4. The officials were perfectly correct in not putting more time on the clock.

As for the final play, I can't count to 1.4 but I can count to two. Just as you have to allow the timer one second to stop the clock, you have to allow him an opportunity to start it. But it shouldn't take a full second to start. I would start a slow count, one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two. My slow 2 count would be around 3 seconds. If the horn hasn't sounded, I would blow the whistle too.

The referee has autority to correct any obvious timing errors. This is a broad power which is outlined in the rulebook or casebook. I think this qualifies. If the referee didn't feel that the clock was started properly, would the proper way to handle it be to reset the clock and allow B to inbound the ball again? Is that fair to A? Does anybody remember 1972?

BTW Coach, how'd you do?
Reply With Quote