View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 04, 2016, 12:18pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Actually, the intent of the rule is to assess a "T" even in that situation. You have to go all the way back to when the NFHS issued it's interps regarding the rule ... 2005 season.

SITUATION 5: A1 is directed to leave the game with a blood-saturated jersey. While at the team bench area, he/she removes the jersey and changes into a clean, spare jersey. RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul. Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball for a division line throw-in. COMMENT: The uniform rule is intended to be applied in all situations. It is not unreasonable to expect team members to leave the playing area to change uniforms. (3-4-15; 10-4-1h)
Cool! Unfortunately I don't think that interp is present in the current rules book. As some might know I am hesitant to apply rules based on interpretations from many years ago (eg. the technical foul for teams running around the opposing players warming up).

If I can't open my current rule book and point to it, why should I be applying it?
Reply With Quote