View Single Post
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 04:31pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Illegal Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No?
Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard..
Agree 100% with #2 above. Always have (by rule and caseplay).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard.
Absolutely not:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)