Thread: Unusual Play
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 12:57pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyss10 View Post
Team A throws ball in on baseline in BC. A1 passes to A2, no pressure at all, 10 second count started, A2 shoots at wrong basket, just hits backboard, A1 gets rebound, does the 10 second count start over or keep counting from initial throw in. Is team A still considered to have continuous control? Rule 4-41-2 states a try for field goal is to one's own basket. What do you think?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
Shooting at the opponents basket is not a try - 10 second back court count continues from when team control is established after initial throw-in.
You might, however, have either a travel or an illegal dribble if a single player is involved in the "shot" and "rebound".
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote