BC violation?
I'm the new T (two man), in transition. A-1 dribbles the ball in her BC, close to the division line.
B-2 comes from behind A-1 and steals the ball, about 3-5 feet from the line, and takes it into her BC. I pause for a second for my partner to get it. (He's practically on the line.) He didn't, so I came in late with a whistle and a BC violation against B. I got a "what the hell are you doing?" look from my partner, but we moved on.
In our post-game discussion, he says there's an exception in the BC rule for a steal. I tell him that only applies to airborne players, jumping from FC and catching the ball before landing in the BC (much like the exception on throw-ins). I saw B-2 control her dribble in her FC and take into the BC, all violation criteria met. It was an unfortunate location for B-2, but it was still a violation. He also wanted to know why I was "even looking there?" We were in transition, so the areas are not as defined.
Is this my kick? Thoughts?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
|