View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 12:57pm
deecee deecee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
"Dipped his shoulder" implies that doing so is illegal. Its not. The displacement that can occur when an offensive player dips his shoulder is what we are calling. I hear too many refs simply saying, "he dipped his shoulder" to explain a call when there was no displacement and nothing illegal.

I know of a few college and HS assingers who don't want that phrase used at all so to say that its "the only acceptable phrase we can use" is not at all accurate.

A foul does not have to be "at the rim" to be a shooting foul. All we have to say, if anything, is "no shot" or "before the shot." And when explaining to a coach you just indicate that the foul occured before the shooting motion began.

As Bob said its a phrase that perpeutates myth. Just like "over the back."
It may not be completely accurate but it's meaning to officials and coaches is obvious. One means shooting foul, the other does not.

Over the back in completely wrong as usually officials that call it make an incorrect call simply because a player jumped over an opponent without making contact (NBA rule).
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote