View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2003, 06:12pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
4/4 from A 46. A5 kicks ball legally and it crosses the ENZ. B10 is awaiting the kick on B 16 and gives an in-valid fair catch signal(the hand never gets above his chin.)
He catches the ball at B 15.

Why would this NOT be PSK? It meets all criteria for it:

past the ENZ, R foul during the kick (ball in air), r posses?

Any thoughts?
It is absolutely a PSK foul. Interesting, sometime in the past when the code was modified to be simpler, an invalid fair catch fell under a loose ball foul provision meaning when Team B made the signal the ball was in team possession of A. Ergo, back to the previous spot and a chance for Team A to get a first down. That was one of the points that led the debate over the unfair tilt of the rules for PSKs.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote