Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
4/4 from A 46. A5 kicks ball legally and it crosses the ENZ. B10 is awaiting the kick on B 16 and gives an in-valid fair catch signal(the hand never gets above his chin.)
He catches the ball at B 15.
Why would this NOT be PSK?
It meets all criteria for it:
past the ENZ, R foul during the kick (ball in air), r posses?
Any thoughts?
|
Yes
sm_bbcoach you are correct in that this penalty will be enforced under
NFHS PSK enforcment because:
1) During a scrimmage kick (other than a try)
NFHS 10-4-3a
2) There was an R player foul (Invalid Fair Catch Signal)
NFHS 6-5-7 NFHS 10-4-3b
3) The kick crossed the ENZ
NFHS 10-4-3c
4) The foul occured before the end of the kick
NFHS 10-4-3d
5) R is in possession when the down ends
and will be the next team to put the ball in play NFHS 10-4-3e
6) R had "Clean Hands" up until the ball crossed the ENZ
NFHS top of page 73)
In your play the kick ended at the R15 when B-10 caught the ball. The BJ should blow his whistle to kill the play when B-10 catchs the kick, the bean bag should be dropped at this point marking the new basic spot.
The five yard penalty takes the ball to the R10 yard-line where R will be next to put the ball in play 1st and 10.
Believe me guys it takes way longer to write this penalty than it ever will to enforce it!
This enforcement and
underlined rule references are correct for all states in this fine nation of ours which includes the District of Columbia that are goverened under
NFHS Rules.
(Therefore this statment is invalid in Massachusetts and Texas)
For those of you using modified NCAA rules for high school football
(Massachusetts and Texas only) Invalid Fair catch signals are dealt with differently.[/b]
Worms? Where are the worms? We don't need no stinking worms.
The only remaining question then is this:
How will DEROCK handle PSK?
Wouldn't you just love to be a fly on the goal post?