View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2016, 06:01pm
bballref3966 bballref3966 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReffingAce View Post
So the rim has no bearing on this play? Looked through casebook and couldn't find anything directly involving the rim. Treat it the same as sides/top/bottom of backboard and the need for another player to touch the ball 1st in some form or fashion? Was one of those rare bounces defying physics that night...
Correct. The ball touching the rim doesn't cause the violation or end the throw-in and its rules. It would be a violation if, before the throw-in ended, (a) the ball entered the basket or (b) it became lodged between the backboard and rim or came to rest on the flange.
Reply With Quote