Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
When A1 commits a personal foul against B1 at the sametime that B3 commits a personal foul against A3, a false double foul has occured. The fouls are penalized in the order that they occur with the penalty for the last foul determining how the ball will remain or be put into play. In this situation since the fouls happened simultaneously the alternating possession arrow will be used to put the ball into play after all of the penalties have been imposed.
|
That's an interesting interpretation. I'm not sure that I agree or disagree with it. But it does have me thinking. Is there a case book play to back it up?
|
When I submitted my ruling I did not have a chance to comment further. As I stated before the two fouls are personal fouls, therefore the penalties are to be imposed for each foul. The rule book is not silent on this play. NHFS R6-S3-A3g and NCAA R6-S3-A1f state that the AP arrow is to be used when opponents commit simultaneous personal fouls. The only time that you have to be concerned about the order in which the fouls are to be penalized is when both teams are going to be shooting free throws. Just have the team that has the AP arrow shot its free throws last. Remember, this play involves personal fouls only and we do not care if the one or both of the fouls are common or not.
This type of foul situation is rare but should be handled in your pre-game conference because it is not the type you really you want to have to explain to both coaches.
Here are some good ways to handle this situation. 1) If both fouls are common fouls or the foul against the player with the ball is a foul in the act of shooting, let the foul on the ball be before the foul off the ball, making the foul off of the ball incidental contact because the ball was already dead. 2) If the foul off the ball was intentional or flagrant, let the foul off the ball be before the foul on the ball. You must always penalize an intentional or flagrant foul. Once again you are letting the other foul become incidental contact because the ball was dead. 3) Take play 1) and instead of a foul on the ball let it be a violation by the ball handler, let that violation be first, and handle the contact off of the ball the same way.
I am not advocating not treating the play as a false double foul. The correct way is to treat it as such. But some officials want to stay way from these type of weird situations and a good pregame on can solve problems like this one.