
Sat Aug 02, 2003, 01:54am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
|
|
Traveling quiz--Take 2
Since nobody else has jumped in, I figure it's fair game to retake this and actually do the homework this time
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
TRAVELING OR NOT?
Play #1 - A1 is holding the ball. Her left foot is her pivot foot. She steps with her right foot and starts to throw a pass. However, a defender leaps in front of her at the last possible moment. She holds onto the ball put lifts her pivot foot. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. 4-43-3 ...After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a) The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. See also case 4.43.3 C
Play #2 - A2 passes the ball to A1. A1 is holding the ball and being guarded by B1. A1 tosses the ball over B1's head and takes off around B1. After the ball hits the floor, A1 grabs it, takes one step, and shoots the ball for a lay-up. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. Since A1 allowed the ball to hit the floor before touching it again, she/he began a dribble. See case 4.14.4 E
Play #3 - A1 is dribbling on a fast break. He passes the ball ahead to A2, who is running down the court. He muffs the catch, bobbles the ball but succeeds in securing control before it strikes the floor. A2 took four steps after he initially touched the ball, before securing it. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. A2 is clearly not holding the ball during the four steps, nor is he in control of it. See case 4.43 A
Play #4 - A1 is in position for a rebound. He taps the rebound into the air to prevent a defender from gaining possession. He taps the ball into the air 4 times and takes 5 steps while trying to keep the ball away from the opponent. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. 4-15-4 Note 2: A player is not dribbling while...he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. No control, no holding, no traveling.
Play #5 - A1 dives for a loose ball on the floor. She gains control of the ball but continues to slide before coming to a stop and requesting a timeout. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. Case 4.43.5 B: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble, or call a time-out.
Play #6 - A1 falls to the floor and is lying on her back when she recovers a loose ball. She sits up and passes the ball to A2. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. Case 4.43.5 B: If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating.
Play #7 - A1 is out of bounds for a spot throw-in. After the ball is placed at her disposal. She runs the baseline. Is this a traveling violation? Why or why not? Not a traveling violation 4-41 note: ...Pivot foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in.
Play #8 - A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. Team control ended with the shot, therefore A1 is entitled to recover the ball and dribble, pass, shoot, etc. Case 4.43 B
Play #9 - Dribbler A1 catches the ball with the right foot touching the floor and then jumps off that foot and alights on both feet simultaneously with one foot in advance of the other. Is this a violation? Why or why not? No violation. 4-43-2-a-3 See also case 4.43.2 A
Play #10 - Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Neither player has moved his/her pivot foot. Case 4.43.2 B
|
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
|