View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 30, 2015, 05:29pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Many years ago, this used to be a throwin violation on A-1 and Team B would get the ball for a throwin at the original spot. I can't believe that there are enough of us that wake up on the right side of the grass that remember this old interpretation to make it a confusing situation for some.

We are getting ready to pick my mother-in-law up to take her out for a surprise birthday dinner party celebrating her 85th birthday today, so I am not about to climb up into the attic. Therefore, I will attempt to answer Billy's question from memory.

I can definitely tell you that:

1) When I started officiating in 1971, the National Basketball Committee of the Untied States and Canada rule (for boys'/girls' high school and men's college) that if A1's Throw-in pass (along the End Line) was first touched by either A2 or B2, who were standing (along a Side Line) with one foot (or both feet) out-of-bounds, A1 had committed a Throw-in Violation for not passing the Ball to a Player on the Court. I do not remember when the rule was changed to what is now in the rules.

2) When I started officiate women's college basketball in 1974, the National Association for Girls and Women in Sports rule (for women's college in the U.S., and also girls' high school in some places of the U.S.) that if A1's Throw-in pass (along the End Line) was first touched by either A2 or B2, who were standing (along a Side Line) with one foot (or both feet) out-of-bounds, A2 or B2 had committed an Out-of Bounds Violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote