Quote:
Originally Posted by SD Referee
What if a player picks up their dribble and they conveniently "fumble" the ball towards the hoop, pick it up before the defense (bad defense by the way) and then shoot a layup? No call?
I very well understand the rules and the definitions. It just doesn't seem like a legal basketball move when you are stuck without your dribble. I guess we have to go back to you can fumble-dribble-fumble but you cannot dribble-fumble-dribble.
|
You're working very hard to justify ignoring the rule.
If they "fumble" the ball, you have judged them to have released it intentionally. It is an illegal dribble when they touch it again. (Not travelling, despite your desire to make the call everyone in the gym wants.)
If they in fact fumble the ball, there is nothing illegal there. It is a no call.
You can't determine whether a release was intentional based on whether it was beneficial to the offense. You have to actually use your judgement.