View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 11:10pm
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
It is not a violation. It is out of bounds if the BALL hits the back of the backboard. The rim and backboard are physically located inside 3 point line but not relevant to player location. Last in contact with floor or extension of floor. Most high school rims and backboards are extensions of the ceiling or sidewall.
You are absolutely right. Here is the value in all this gibberish. It caused me to search through rules that I "already knew." I did not realize that the rule for out of bounds was separated in such a way for ball vs. player. I still don't really see the value in knowing this right now, but it's always better to know, is it not?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote