View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 31, 2000, 09:46am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by JugglingReferee
I had this one once:

I'm the L: A4 gets good rebounding position on defender B4. A1 puts up a 3 point shot. Just after the release, A4 "clears out" B4. He had no reason to do it. I call the foul, for controlling rough play purposes. Then, the ball goes in, and the airborne shooter, A1, is fouled by B2. My partner calls the foul there. (B2 did not allow A1 to land. He was "there" too late to draw the PC.) We get together and decide that it's a false double foul. Never had one before - so I wasn't sure if we were actually "having one". B was not in the bonus.

..Mike
Mike,
Last year I would have done the same.
But after the emphasis on game flow at camp (and I might add, a lot of camps that I've read about) this year, I now would pass on A4's clear out until it was obvious to me that B4's rebounding position was compromised.
In your case B4 had no play on the ball because it went into the hole. If the shot was missed and the rebound went away from A4/B4, I still will not make the call because B4 had no resulting play. If the ball rebounded toward A4/B4, only then do we have a call, but probably, by then, B2 had already been called for fouling the airborn shooter.
Thus, the problem of the two common fouls is eliminated by a slight delay of the whistle and the lack of a clear advantage/disadvantge in the sitch.
Now, if B4 ends up sitting on the floor, or is bloody, or some such, that is another can o' worms, and that call should be made regardless of the result of the shot.
Doesn't seem exactly correct, according to the book, but it appears to be the "accepted way" to handle that situation.
mick
Reply With Quote