View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 21, 2015, 12:16am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref1990 View Post
A1 is at the 28' mark in the frontcourt for a throw in. A2 attempts to catch the throw in and touches the ball while standing in the frontcourt and the ball rolls into the backcourt. A2 goes into the backcourt and is the first to touch the ball.

Looking at NFHS Basketball Rule 9-9-1 and 4-12-2.d, I would consider this to be a backcourt violation as team control was established with the frontcourt throw in and A2 being the first to touch in the frontcourt and again in the first to touch in the backcourt.

Is this backcourt?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
Not backcourt, but any new official wouldn't know that by reading the current rules book.
A few years ago the NFHS changed the defintion of team control in order to eliminate shooting FTs for fouls committed during a throw-in (now extended to the point at which an inbounds player gains control of the ball) and this change messed up the backcourt rule.
During the next couple of years the NFHS attempted to clarify its intent and issued a few statements letting officials know that the team control foul change was not to impact the backcourt violation rule. One of these clarifications issued by the NFHS said that no backcourt violation could occur until an inbounds player gained control of the ball following a throw-in. Anything which happens before that can't be a backcourt violation.

I'll try to find that passage and post it for you.
Reply With Quote