View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2000, 10:46pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Paul,

I think if the intent of the rule was as you suggest, it would be written differently. But I never read any interpretation that led me to to believe that this rule was refering to two teams and not two opposing players.

Consider a double technical foul (4-19-7b) and a simulataneous technical foul (4-19-9). If we accept your interpretation of this, it would also apply to the definition of a double technical. And if that were true, there would no such thing as a simultaneous technical foul. But there is.

If anything, these are simultaneous personal fouls. However, there's no definition for such, so you have to decide which one occurred first. Somebody's got to drop.

Tony
Reply With Quote