Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
Ok so couple things. 1 will be rules related and the other just ruminations.
1. 2 ways for a throw in to end --> violation on offense or ball legally touched. So since I said earlier that the plane does not matter as far as the status of the ball (i.e. OOB or inbouncs) holding the ball over the plane is nothing. So if the ball is held over the court and defense touches the ball why would you have a violation on the offense? The action of making contact with the ball was by the defense. But it doesn't make sense to call this a violation on the defense as the ball is within the playing confines and over the court to which they have a right to be.
2. Lets say white A1 has the ball in bounds during play play causes him to lose the ball and fall OOB. (A) His teammate OR (B) and opponent picks up the ball and A1, still OOB, reaches and makes contact with the ball in both scenarios. In both cases the call is OOB on A1 and it's blue's ball. Now apply this logic to your first question. What did the defense do to deserve a violation?
|
So I'll respond to a couple of parts that I've marked above-
Bold: My reasoning is that the offense failed to complete a legal throw in, as the rules continually define the throw in ending when: "...The thrown ball..." 9.2.2 says in part, "The ball shall be passed by the thrower..." with the penalty at the end of the section being, "The ball becomes dead when the violation occurs." From this wording, it seems to me that the ball MUST be passed on to the court.
Underline: Agree 100%. I don't think there is any justification for a defensive violation in any of these scenarios (Where they don't reach over the plane.)
Red: Again, nothing. My arguement is that I think the rules support an offensive violation, if anything.
Just to be clear, I'm not saying that I would call this any different than what the case book indicates, but I do think that there is some inconsistencies in the way the rule is written, and how it is ruled in the case book.