Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11
I don't know if my previous post was clear, I was referring to it being a violation on the offense, not the defense. Either way, the defense would get the ball, so the act of calling it dead is somewhat moot, as scrounge indicated.
|
Ok so couple things. 1 will be rules related and the other just ruminations.
1. 2 ways for a throw in to end --> violation on offense or ball legally touched. So since I said earlier that the plane does not matter as far as the status of the ball (i.e. OOB or inbouncs) holding the ball over the plane is nothing. So if the ball is held over the court and defense touches the ball why would you have a violation on the offense? The action of making contact with the ball was by the defense. But it doesn't make sense to call this a violation on the defense as the ball is within the playing confines and over the court to which they have a right to be.
2. Lets say white A1 has the ball in bounds during play play causes him to lose the ball and fall OOB. (A) His teammate OR (B) and opponent picks up the ball and A1, still OOB, reaches and makes contact with the ball in both scenarios. In both cases the call is OOB on A1 and it's blue's ball. Now apply this logic to your first question. What did the defense do to deserve a violation?