
Tue Dec 01, 2015, 01:42pm
|
NFHS Official
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11
And this is EXACTLY why I wanted to bring this up for discussion, as there seems to be separate interpretations in the case book and rules book. The defender is allowed to essentially take a handoff from the thrower by taking it out of his hands (legal by case book play 7.6.4A), yet if the offensive player does the same, then the thrower seems to have violated by rule 7-6-2. So which ruling should apply for the offensive player?
Also, and I realize that the case book play deems it legal, so we need to officiate as such, but why is it not a violation on the thrower in when the defender take the ball from them? They have not completed a throw-in as defined by the rule book.
|
They aren't separate interpretations. It is two different situations and two different rules. One applies to the defense and one applies to the offense.
|