What you're all saying is well-founded, and you know that for the most part I'm a rules stickler. I would never correct something that a rule does not allow me to if subsequent action occurred following that error (one must avoid dealing with the fruit of the poisonous tree), to include time running off the clock. But in my hypothetical case, it was 100% my fault, no subsequent action and/or time loss occurred, and thus no advantage or disadvantage fell on either team. There are (rare) times when the human factor and/or the intent of a rule trump the literal rule itself. It's a judgment thing. I know not everyone will agree with me and I'm ok with that.
BUT! To avoid the situation in the OP, I always take a subtle step backwards after putting the ball at the thrower's disposal. I'm 100% sure I call a violation in this case if it was a matter of the thrower making a less than advisable pass.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
|